DEVA Vegan Omega-3 DHA is a quality product derived from algae and packaged in non-animal softgels made from carrageenan and starch. This makes an excellent alternative to fish oil and can be confidently used by vegetarians and vegans alike. DHA is a long chain polyunsaturated omega-3 oil. It is an essential fatty acid, meaning that the body doesn’t produce it by itself and it must be obtained in the diet. DHA is one of the most prominent essential fatty acids in the brain and in the retina. DEVA Omega-3 DHA is 100% vegan, vegetarian and is certified by the Vegan Society, the non-profit organization that actually invented the word “vegan”.